Women Are Not Your Things!

I wasn’t going to do a blog on the Steubenville issue.  I’d posted enough links on my Facebook to really get across my feelings, but the issue has been going round and round in my head today, and I just can’t ignore my thoughts.  So, if you would just bear with me.

First, can I just say something to all the misogynistic people out there? Women are not property! We are not things to be used by men at their will! This has to be a hard concept for some, because those two anchors on CNN seem to be of the same opinion.

Let me explain this in a way that will hopefully make it easier to understand. If a guy were to get so insanely drunk that you could do anything to them and they couldn’t stop you, some would say that he’s fair game. He could probably expect to wake up with a sharpie tuxedo or a face like a ten-dollar whore, maybe even dressed in ladies’ underroos. It’s all in fun, and the sharpie, despite being called a permanent marker will wash away eventually. However, would people stand idly by while he got ass-raped? No? But he intentionally put himself in a vulnerable state, leaving himself open to attack! He Was asking for it, right? Still no? Then why was it okay to sexually assault the girl?

There is no difference in the situations. I repeat, there is no difference! Regardless of sexual orientation and gender, rape is rape. Regardless of the heavy underage drinking, no one has the right to attack another human being for amusement!  We are not property, we are not things! Our value is not dependent on the men around us!

It’s 2013 people! What is with giving these boys what amounts to a slap on the wrist?  This is sickening!  Congressmen and “medical professionals” are saying that rape is a contraceptive, bills are being passed that would force a rape victim to carry her rapist’s baby or be imprisoned for “tampering with evidence”, boys that rape a girl who document and brag about it on Facebook are getting piddly sentences and thousands of supporters bemoaning how their lives are ruined!  The world has gone insane!

 

*A Little Updade* I came across this video.  It certainly hits on the point of what you should do for all people passed out…with the few sharpie marker exceptions! 

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

One Response to Women Are Not Your Things!

Leave a Reply

