I’m A Slacker…You All Knew That!

Okay, so I haven’t blogged in a while…again! Look, if you didn’t know that I was inconsistent with journalling, you know now!  Heck, I think my journals had almost a whole year gap in one at one time!  Compared to that, my blogging is regular!  Heck, you know what? I just checked my personal journal, and the date of the last entry was January 7th, right after getting home from my brother’s funeral.  Yeah really lax there!  But you know what, my writing hasn’t been idle!  And at the risk of jinxing myself I’ll tell you all about it! (Ahem! For all you not willing to be bored, there’s a “back” button on your browser there you might wanna hit ~.^!)

Well, first off I’d like to say that the new MP3 player couldn’t last 6 months without becoming an unusable piece of  (storming off in a fit of expletives..) The thing didn’t even have the decency to pretend to have a playlist feature, which the other one that looked exactly the same did.  It got to the point that the dumb thing would only play out of one ear, and that was not because of the headphones it seems I’ve been needing to replace every month.  I have a pair I’m using right now that work perfectly.  Well, the player just pretends to play the songs for me, but obviously the connector is muffed up since I can’t hear a GD thing in them.  Stupid player!  I back-tracked to the Hipstreet player, but it went on the fritz again….stupid Hipsteet!  So, I resorted to using the only other electronic that would be capable, my NO-Plan Phone! Yay for multitasking electronics!!!  I have to go into it and figure where I can cut out junk I don’t need to make more space for the music though…I have a lot of music, wouldn’t you know…

If you’re new to my blog, you might be asking why music is being discussed in a blog that’s supposed to be about writing.  Well, first of all thank you for not actually hitting that back button I suggested you push!  Now you get to read my sugar-induced spiel about my fiction writing and such!  Also, I use music to get myself into the groove I need for my writing.  Usually, to get me started, I need certain songs that I associate with certain storylines.  For instance, I listen to a lot of Deadmau5, Daftpunk, Benny Benassi, Skrillex and other dance/techno/electronica/dubstep to get myself into the mood for one I’m working on called Vertigo, but for Divinity Games I listen to more Evanescence, Seal, Hikari Utada, Amaranthe, Paramore, and Katy Perry.  Likewise there’s a lot of Latin, mostly with Tango and Flamenco styles to Dangerous Obsidian, and mostly Celtic themed works for Elven twilight (though I haven’t written in that one in ages…damnit, NO I will not turn my attention to you yet…STAY! Down boy!)

Ofcorse the music will only work if I put them in a good playlist, and for a while now, they’ve been very mixed, so I’ve been pretty torn between what I should be writing in.  Well due to my MP3 player woes, my playlist got limited to what would fit on the phone before it ran out of space, and wouldn’t you know, most of the techno/dubstep stuff on my computer got put on there (quite random, I promise you) But if you can imagine, I managed to get both the Mellygasm mix version and original version of Hey Baby on my phone, which above all the other songs, really got me in the mindset to work on Vertigo some more.  Vertigo, is supposed to be a nice short rough amuse bouche of Ladyprawn 😉 but before recent days, it hadn’t been doing all that well.  With the help of my phone, and a little reworking of how the story progresses, I think I’ve figured out how to make it run smoothly.  So far so good! I wrote so much at one point I ran my pen out of ink!  Mind you, a good deal of some of that was me crossing out whole pages of work because they weren’t leading to what I want.  Stupid characters!  You’re supposed to smooch, not fight!   I’m too in love of the Love-Hate relationships for my own good!

I just wanted to make sure you all were aware that I was alive and still writing!  Take care for now! I’m off to type up all this handwritten GOLD!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

4 Responses to I’m A Slacker…You All Knew That!

  1. Hey, Cici, how are you doing? Sorry to hear about your brother, and given that loss in January, it’s understandable that you wouldn’t write too much right after that. I don’t think I wrote one word after my mother died for at least 4 months…take care!
    TenaciousB

    • Cici Brown says:

      Yeah, it’s been tough. We were actually hit by two deaths that week, my husband’s grandmother died two days after my brother and their funerals were on the same day in two different states. We’re still both recovering atm…I can’t even listen to some of the Rascal Flatts songs my husband likes because they played them at my brother’s funeral. But it comes and goes. And by comes I mean, very randomly, I just want to curl up into a ball and shut off the world for a bit.

      • I know the feeling. My mother died in 2007 about 17 days after she was diagnosed with cancer, then my Dad and my husband’s Grandfather in December of 2009. It’s never easy. Glad you’re able to write some though. That always helped me! And I know what you mean by it comes and goes. To this day, I’ll suddenly start crying when I hear a Sinatra song (Mom’s favorite crooner) or something, and it’s been six years. Sending happy thoughts/prayers your way…:).
        Best,
        ~TB

      • Cici Brown says:

        I really appreciate it! And though I know it’s been a while, I’m sorry to hear that your parents have passed too! The important thing is to remember how they lived, who they were, and how they loved you (though admittedly that still causes me to cry). I know I’ll encounter more grief in my life, the more people I meet and grow to love. My brother is not the first, nor is he going to be the last, but you hardly ever expect it, and even when you do, it’s hard to see the one you love go. I’m sending happy thoughts/prayers/vibes your way as well!
        Keep Up the Tenaciousness (I love it!),
        Cici

Leave a Reply

