Two Months of Writing Prompts: Day Seven

Okay, so I’ve had this one written out as well as a lot of its brothers for quite some time now, but it’s taken me this long to get it on the computer.  I have not been avoiding my writing!  I actually have been working on one that’s already posted on the site, but it has a password so anyone I haven’t given the password to won’t be able to read it just yet.  I’ve been thinking of making some of the stuff I’ve posted in the past available without the password.  I don’t know if anyone would be interested or not.  Some of the stuff I have is explicit and I don’t want to get in trouble if someone reads it that can’t handle it.  I thought about changing the password to “I am over eighteen”…input would be alright in this case, and if you want the password all you really have to do is ask.  Well anyway, here’s the Seventh writing prompt: Someone’s pet snake is loose in the classroom! Describe what happens.  I know someone that will get why I picked that prompt! 😉

Usually I’m the first to arrive for last period Science class.  No one in the class loves the subject more than me, really.  But ever since the teacher adopted a ball python for the class pet, I’d been seeing Chris Scott arrive before me more often.  Strangely it seemed to coincide with days he needed feeding.  Today was apparently one of those days.  The teacher seemed to have stepped out, and Chris was walking towards his desk.

I avoided eye contact, as usual, and made a bee-line to my seat in the farthest corner from the door.  As soon as I was seated, my face was planted in my newest Harlequin romance novel, and my surroundings faded away until the bell announced the end of the passing period.

There as a vague sense of people entering the class and sitting down.  The hum of eighth grade chatter managed to register on my brain, but only just.  It wasn’t until the bell rang that I put my book away and made myself focus on the teacher who had come back sometime in the minutes since I’d started reading.

Miss Carol started calling down the list of names for today’s attendance, marking off those that didn’t answer to show the higher-ups that the child was absent.  Then, she asked that everyone pass last night’s assignment to the front.  I took the opportunity to gaze over at Chris, which I usually did when the class was busy passing things back or forward.  He sat closest to the door, a place I suspected he’d picked in order to slip into class undetected if he were late, and the be able to leave the moment the bell rang.

I’d had a crush on him since sixth grade, but he seemed oblivious to my existence.  I’d known him since I was eight.   It was the first day of school and at recess he made a game of pulling on my long braid.  He had been a bit of a pest at first, shooting me with spit wads, and snagging my chicken nuggets.  It wasn’t until Fifth grade that I noticed he’d stopped pestering me.  I must admit that I’d started to miss it over the years, and it became a regular thing for me to watch him durring recess while he played football with his friends.

My friends, Amy & Lynn were utterly sick of it.  I didn’t “date” like the other girls in our grade, and it was starting to make some of our classmates speculate whether or not I like boys.  In fact, one of the recent rumors I’d heard had me paired with Lynn.

There was a shout to my left, jolting me from my musings.  Amanda was freaking out, climbing on top of her table and staring wide-eyed at Monty’s cage.  At first, I was confused.  I mean, she was a girly-girl that always wore the most fashionable clothes with a mask of makeup and had the most popular boyfriends.  She acted like a shallow twat most of the time, but this was beyond her normal girly freak-outs.  Then, as I looked at the cage, I realized Monty was missing.

My eyes instantly sought out Chris, who was staring horrified at the cage.  He was cradling his hand, and upon further inspection, I noticed the fresh bandage on it.

The class was quick to realize that the snake had escaped, and soon girls and boys alike were perching on the tables away from the reptile.  The teacher rushed to the door, scanned the hall hastily, then closed it promptly.

“Alright,” she said over the din of panic, “Everyone remain calm.  Remember what we learned about ball pythons and how they aren’t vipers, but constrictors.  If he does bite you, the worst that will happen is he may draw a little blood.  Now I want us all to calm down and try to find him.”

I looked down at the floor, only moderately nervous about being bitten.  I was more nervous about stepping on him, in which case he’d probably bite me, but only in defense.  I scanned the floor, noting the slight layer of dusty footprints and bits of pencil shavings.  God, does the janitor even sweep the floors anymore, or are my classmates just horrible slobs?  Slowly, I got down on my hands and knees, cringing a little at the dirty smudges it was going to create on my jeans.  My progress down the isle was gradual as I scoured the immediate area for any sign of the reptile.  A hand came into my vision and I jumped, hitting my head on the table above me.

“Sorry,” Chris mumbled as I rubbed the top of my head.

I couldn’t help the rush of warmth that came to my cheeks, nor the feeling of my chest wanting to explode.  His bright green eyes were so close, he was so close.  I quickly looked away and tried to hide my discomfort behind the illusion of looking for the snake.  “No prob, ” I murmured.

“Who let the snake out anyway?” Amanda yelled from across the room from her perch on top of her table.

I felt Chris cringe beside me.  I don’t know if he was afraid he’d get in trouble for it or not, but he obviously didn’t want it known.  I risked a glance back at him, and saw the same panicked look in his eyes as before.

“Amanda,” I said feighning an incredulous look, “I think he’s climbing up under you!”

She screeched and I saw the table shake.  I smirked, and a slight hissing snicker from beside me told me I wasn’t the only one amused.  I grinned back at Chris and shrugged.

“Found him!” one of Chris’s friends called out from a couple of tables over.

Chris and I crawled out from under the table and he offered me a hand as I was about to get up.  His eyes still glittered with contained mirth, lips curved at the corners.  I hesitated only a second before placing my hand in his.  It was warm but a little gritty from crawling on the floor.  My fingers curled into his and as he pulled me up, I was surprised by how strong he seemed for a young teen.

“Thank you,” I said just loud enough for him to hear.

His smile became broader, showing a single dimple in one cheek.  “No prob.”

I let go of his hand and watched as they carefully gathered the young snake and put him back into the glass cage.  Everyone was instructed to return to their seats, and class continued as usual.  Well, at least for some of us.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

