Two Months of Writing Prompts: Day Nine

I swear, all of these are still on my notebook…I’m still not caught up to September 22nd which is the day that I’m really posting this, but what can you do?  This particular post was supposed to be posted on my birthday, which was pretty nice, but writing wasn’t exactly the first thing on my mind.  Anyway, I’m just going to just jump into this prompt and let you go with that for speed’s sake, and hope that the Universe will ease up on the demands and such long enough for me to get a daily word count and another couple prompts in the bag in the coming days.  Prompt for day Nine: Is there an opposite to real love?

In my opinion, there are many types of love.  All of them are “Real” to me, but each are different.  Still, when you think about them all, they do have a similarity to each other.  The object of one’s affection consumes one’s thoughts, if sporadically in some cases.  You feel passionately in some way towards them.  Some people grow to hate the ones they love, but that’s still passion.  in fact, I know from experience that there is definitely a thin line between love and hate.  Hate, however is not opposite of love.  Friendship is also a type of love.  Many people claim they would do anything for their friends.  They may not feel romantically towards them (I say may, some people do secretly wish to have more with their friends too) but in my book, a person who’s willing to go to great lengths for someone else, loves them.  So, friendship is not opposite of love either.  Lust can even be a sort of love, shallow maybe as it is mostly a love of what the other can do for you, but still a sort of love.  So what is the opposite of Love?  Is anything?

Yes.  Indifference is what I think is the opposite of love.  There’s no passion in indifference, no caring, not even hate.  If you’re indifferent to someone, you never think of them.  You don’t care if they get a promotion, lost their job, gained a hundred pounds, or just buried a family member.  As far as opposites go, it has to be the closest to a true opposite of love as you can get because when someone you used to love becomes indifferent, it hurts more than if they hated you.  At least with hate, you know they think about you still, but when they don’t, when they truly don’t care either way?  That’s when you know you are nothing to them, that there’s nothing left.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

