Two Months of Writing Prompts: Day Ten

The prompt: If you could have somebody elses hair for a day, whose would it be? Why? What do you like about that person’s hair?

I used to play this game with my childhood friend.  I would complain about how my hair was so straight, and plain, and she would offer to take it off my hands.  Almost a little too enthusiastically actually.  I grew up wanting curly hair like my mother’s or my cousin’s.  At one point I even got a perm with curls so tight I looked like I had an afto like my cousin.  I proudly bounced up to her after and said, “Look Angie! Now my hair looks just like yours!”

If I’d been asked this question twenty years ago, that would probably have been my answer.  I would wish to have my cousin’s hair.  I don’t really want it anymore, though.  After having my youngest, my hair strangely developed a bit of a natural curl.  Not big, but it’s given my hair a little volume and a slight wave.  I like my hair a lot better now.

Not necessarily because it’s not quite straight anymore, but because I came to realize that it has qualities that pleases me.  It’s soft, for one, but still strong and healthy.  It has been a source of comfort for my four-year-old all his life, and anything that can comfort a baby just by being there, I can’t help but admire.  It also grows quickly.  I can manage about a foot of growth in a little over a year.  Apparently not everyone can do that.  I had just taken it for granted that I could periodically chop it off and have it grow back in a year or so.

But this isn’t about my love for my own hair, is it?  It’s about someone else’s hair, and why I’d like to have theirs for a day.  I have to admit, though it is still beautiful, and longer now, I would not choose Angela’s hair.  The length coupled with the extensive tight curls would guarantee a t least a full day of grooming it for me.  However, if I could have anyone’s hair for one day, it would be Lucy’s of Lucy’s Corsetry.

What do I like most about it? I love the length the most.  Her hair is roughly 48 inches, and I couldn’t tell you how heavy.  Four feet of hair!  That’s a lot of hair!  She could use her braid as a rope to climb!  Well, painfully.  She takes excellent care of it, and I just think it’s gorgeous.  However, I don’t know how coarse it is, or how thick, so one day would probably be all I needed to know if I’d like it more permanently, Which is why I’d much rather grow my hair that long instead.  Consider this my official declaration of growth! Three feet or bust!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

