Two Months of Writing Prompts: Day Twelve

Next writing prompt!  This really happened, and I didn’t make this one up.  That said, enjoy anyway! The writing prompt is: Was it supposed to be funny?  What memory does the word “Prank” stir up for you?

Strange that a people’s celebration of the New Year became a day of mocking said people, then became a national pranking day, don’t you think?  That’s the first thing that comes to mind when I think of pranking and April Fool’s day, but I digress.

I think about the fake pregnancy prank that went terribly wrong.  It wasn’t the first time I’d pulled the prank on someone.  I’d approached a boyfriend one April Fool’s when I was in highschool, and told him that I was late.  Scared the crap out of him.  I immediately revealed that it wasn’t true and he was both relieved and a little aggravated.

Then, on April Fool’s day five years ago, I thought it would be funny to post a status update on Myspace telling all my friends I was pregnant with twins.  I left it up for a bit because it takes some people a little to get things on their news feed.  Not too long later, I got an excited phone call from one of my two best friends, and after a little while longer, I posted that I’d April Fooled everyone.  (I told my best friend on the phone when she called.)

Successful prank, right?  Not when you do the math and realize I was unknowingly six or so weeks pregnant.  I revealed my condition to friends and family around Mother’s Day, much to my Mother-in-Law’s delight.  My friends whom I’d pranked had a good laugh and then congratulations were given…again, but for only one healthy baby boy.  A baby boy, who even before he was born, pulled his own April Fool’s joke on his mommy.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

