Two Months of Writing Prompts: Day Fifteen

Now, I don’t normally do this, but sometimes a writing prompt just fits with something I’m working on in story.  This is one of those cases, so you get a little bit of a sneak peak *rough and unedited* into Vertigo because today’s prompt is: I found the strangest thing in my pocket.  Since there’s nothing more to this prompt, I let it take me somewhere.  Enjoy!

He was gone before I woke up.  The rumpled sheets and teeth marks on my body were the only evidence he’d been here with me.  I admit, I was disappointed.  He hadn’t said whether or not he was pleased, nor did he allow me to see his face.  Did that mean this was it?

I sighed and stretched my aching limbs.  So much for getting back into the dating scene without a hitch.  I slid from the bed and started to gather the velcro straps.  Next, I picked up my scattered clothing from last night, which had managed to be flung in every direction.  I panicked for a minute when I couldn’t find my underwear.  The corset had draped itself over the headboard, my flimsy silk dress was below the window, and my stockings were hanging from a framed painting and tangled in the discarded comforter, respectively.  I’d torn the bed apart twice before realizing that I hadn’t worn any.

Deflated, I gathered up my toiletries, my pen-camera, and pulled out my change of clothes.  Shower be damned.  I wanted out of the room.  I’d take a shower at home where I could figure out how, or if I should message Draconis.

I pulled on the cotton sports bra and panties I’d packed in my suitcase, shrugged into a nice pink and black blouse, and wiggled into a pair of worn denim jeans, ignoring the bunched cloth in the pocket and slipped on some sandals.

I was out of the room, down the hall, and nearing the reception desk when I couldn’t stand my pocket any longer and shoved my hand in to straighten it.  My fingers met with something firmer than the cloth of my pocket.  I pulled it out and in my hand I found a green polyester dog collar with “training” written in black permanent marker by the buckle.  I frowned at it.  We only had one night, though we had been talking for a while.  Still, a collar was a big deal I’d thought.  Maybe the “training” meant he was still interested and wanted other Doms to know that I was being courted?  Perhaps the cheep nature of it was as much symbolic of how temporary the relationship was.  I decided to put it back in my pocket till I could talk to him more about it.  Whatever he meant by it, the collar obviously meant this wasn’t over yet.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

