Two Months of Writing Prompts: Day Sixteen

So, even though this was supposed to be published at the end of August, I’m only just getting around to typing it at the end of September.  Yesterday I found out that by publishing without changing the date published first was causing problems for the link everyone sees in Facebook when I did go back and change it.  So, before posting I’m changing the date to the date it needed to be from now on.  No more problems with the rest.  If you are interested in seeing the other goofy things I’ve posted and weren’t able to see before, feel free to go back and look from my main page.  Also, I’ve been having a blast on the Magic Spreadsheet!  It can be a little dicey, but I enjoy seeing how I’ve done over the last month, and it has given me a better perspective on word count.  So anyway  This is the 200th post, and strangely the prompt is the $10 million question, that is: Would you prefer to have ten million dollars right now, or one million a year for ten years? Why?

If I were to win ten million dollars and had a choice to receive the money over time, or in one lump sum, I would choose the former option.  On paper, it may seem like getting it all in one go would mean you could use that money immediately  but lets look at this logically.  People that get that type of money from a lottery or some other prize winning contest, end up receiving less money due to taxes and such.  Pluss that money won’t necessarily still be in your pocket, or bank account in five to ten years.

So, I say give it to me every year, or even once a month!  The taxes will be less, and before taxes that would be an eighty-three thousand dollar monthly salary!  That money would take care of all the bills, probably for a year.  Heck!  One month and my house would be paid off, early closing fee be damned!  My husband and I could get two new cars, look into getting a better house, and pay off all our bills in a matter of a few months!  Though we’d probably make the new house an overtime sort of thing.

I would prefer it doled out over time, mostly because I’d be able to budget that money more thoroughly with a clear goal in the future, and an assurance that if something were to happen, there would be something regularly coming to take care of me and my family.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

