Two Months of Writing Prompts: Day Seventeen

Well, I just realized that in my notebook I skipped Seventeen entirely! Interesting how that works, huh? In the words of my brother “Silly Sea Serpent!” Well, here you go, the seventeenth prompt fresh and ready for all yall!  I’m trying to limit my non-story writing, so this isn’t nearly as long as I could, but who knows, it could be a decent begining.

“The cat’s out of the bag” is an idiom that indicates that a secret has been revealed. Write a story or poem that illustrates this idiom.

Dear Journal,

He didn’t  know it.  I’d kept it a secret for years, hiding behind polite smiles, impersonal hugs.  All he’s ever known is that I’m that girl that sometimes hangs out with him and his friends.  I wouldn’t exist if it wasn’t for our mutual friends.  He doesn’t know that when he looks at me, my heart rockets out of my chest.  He doesn’t know that when he sends me a message, my smile becomes wider than a cheshire cat.  He didn’t know that I daydream about us going off on our own, that it’s really him that wants to hang out, and not his friend asking if I want to do something.

I wrote everything in my journal.  Everything!  Every small little bit of interaction we have, every daydream, they’re all in this little book.  I thought they’d be safe as long as I didn’t leave it out in the open, as long as I put it in my bag, no one would read it, and that’s how I wanted it.  I didn’t want him to know.  He can’t know.  The thought of him finding out was so mortifying.  He’d never like me back!

But then, one day I went for a walk.  Left my bag behind.  I was trying to come to terms with this girlhood crush.  Tried to explain to myself that he never need know.  That I would move on some day.  When I got back, I found out they’d been snooping.  He’d tried to keep them out of my stuff, and in the scuffle this journal, with my fluffy white cat on the front fell out.

I got back just as Amy read one of the passages out loud.  “I wish Hunter would notice me.  I wish he could be mine.”

Shit.  I can never show my face around them again!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

