Writing Prompts That Don’t Suck!

I decided to start a daily-ish writing prompt thingie-ma-jig again.  I was going to write for one month straight and post a list just like I did that other time I wanted to do a writing prompt challenge.  I even had a list of 29 prompts but couldn’t find one that really gripped me for the 30th.  I even used ones from my old list that I either didn’t do or could do a second time, but in a different way.  However, the space I allotted for the 29th prompt was sadly empty and I went on a search to find something satisfactory to fill it with, which led me to Writing Prompts That Don’t Suck. She hasn’t posted in a while, but I figure, I’ll go to her every day and if I don’t like what she posts when she ends up posting again, I’ll just choose from one of her previous ideas!  To date, there’s over 650 prompts, so I have more than enough to work with.  Besides, I can always go to my list if I really want something else! So, in that spirit, today’s post is “Write a story where the food at a swanky dinner party is or seems to be alive.” For this, I’m going to keep it under 250 words.

So, it was my first time being invited to a celebrity author Meet-and-Greet dinner, and I was super psyched! My last book had done so well on the New York Times’ bestseller list that I was given an invitation to be a part of this year’s spring dinner. From what I’d learned on the internet, it was a great honor.

I was dressed to the nines, and met a few authors that I’d grown up adoring. Getting to meet them now seemed like a dream come true, and though I hope I didn’t annoy them with too many questions about their writing process, I couldn’t help but try to talk shop with them anyway.

Then, dinner came. I have to say, I don’t get this high end food. There was a plate of octopus tentacles that were still wiggling, though I was assured that they were safe to eat. Also they had live snails crawling across a bowl. Again, I was assured that they’d been tested for parasites and were also safe to eat. Still, I was too afraid to eat the food. Who in the world eats this stuff anyway?

I thought I was saved when I heard they were going to bring out desert. It turned out to be a professionally sculpted cake made to look like zombies feasting on the entrails of a corpse. I suppose I should have expected as much from a Horror writer’s celebratory dinner.

(241 words)

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

3 Responses to Writing Prompts That Don’t Suck!

  1. Chaus says:

    hi ruby it’s chaus pls come home

  2. Pingback: Once More With Feeling Writing Prompts: Day 2 | Ladybug's Blog

Leave a Reply

