Once More With Feeling Writing Prompts: Day 2

So, the last post was good for journal writing in it’s truest form. Not that I have anything against journal writing at all, but I love writing prompts that are more creative in their angle.  However, today is not quite that day. For those of you that have come to this post first, whether it be the first in my series of writing prompts or your first ever Ladybug blog post, I’m referring to a list of writing prompts I compiled from prompts I’d taken from all over the place.  You may even find some previously written into a much larger list that I never managed to finish in previous posts.  If you feel like you’d like to try my list out, you may find it here.  Want to see my other lists? You can locate them here.  You can also find the first post where I provide links to the sites I borrowed my initial prompts from here.

But anyway, the prompt is: Write for 10 minutes about a conflict that involves tulips in some way. This I can tell is going to take on more of an informative style than a story-like bent being that one of my many hats is as a florist.  That being said, I can tell where I’m going to take this prompt.  Okay everyone! Ten minutes on the clock…and…GO!

Valentine’s day at a flower shop.  Next to Mother’s Day and Prom, it is the busiest time of the year.  For days before, shops around the country prepare, receiving fields’ worth of flowers.  Most of what they get are roses.  Red roses are the most prevalent flower, but there is always someone that wants something a little different, so other colors like pink or yellow are also ordered to anticipate the need.  Carnations, mostly in red, but also in other colors are also a flower commonly asked for, though not nearly as much as roses yet.  Usually for the ladies out there that don’t like roses, or for the men that would rather not spend so much on flowers.  What isn’t normally asked for is tulips.

Some shops, usually those in bigger cities, will order them anyway, because there’s always the chance someone will want them.  For small-town shops however, it’s a toss-up whether or not to have them ordered ahead of time.  If you do, and no one orders an arrangement of them, the shop may end up “eating” them.  However, if you don’t and a customer comes in asking for them, you would potentially alienate that individual.  People have been turned away from businesses for less.

Yes, ordering tulips on Valentine’s Day can be a bit of a crap-shoot for the small-town flower shop.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

