Once More With Feeling Writing Prompts: Day 3

So…I was in one of the beauty supply stores the other day, and what would I see but a gold chrome nail kit.  I…um also got myself a snazy new LED light (I swear to God this is a need and not a want, even if it makes me squee that I got it for half the price I was willing to pay, and it came with glitter…what???) and ordered a new brand of structure gel that cures in an LED (again, I need new structure gel and I figured I might as well go with the brand that I’ve heard nothing but good things about…so what if I geek out about it…) BUT I did not buy the chrome kit, nor did I get any of the color-changing gel polishes when I got the new structure gel…but I really wanted to!  I reminded myself that the chrome and the polishes were not Needs, they were Wants, and if I buy them now, I’ll be rewarding myself for nothing, since I’ve only been able to finish 2 days of writing prompts.

Yes, I realize I’m doing this one pretty late in the day.  It’s still Tuesday though! I got this!  Okay, so for those that don’t know what I’m talking about, I decided to do 30 days of writing prompts because I haven’t been successful in completing a single one of these challenges that I’ve set for myself for one reason or another, and I’m bound and determined to do it this time!  Last post I mentioned treating myself to something new and spiffy if I finish this challenge I’ve set for myself and I’m trying to stick to it! You can find the list HERE if you want to join in.  Today’s writing prompt is: What does Sunday feel like? Write a poem or paragraph (or whatever) that explains your opinion of and emotions felt for the seven separate days of the week. Are we ready boys and girls?  Let’s get started, shall we?

Sunday, day of rest for some.  Grocery Day for me.  It’s the day my husband tries to get me to do my shopping, anyway.  I’m not sure why it has to be Sunday, though.  I have mixed feelings about this day.  If I don’t go to church, it becomes the only day I don’t have to set an alarm, and I’d like to spend it doing absolutely nothing.  Doesn’t always end up that way though.

Monday is my secondary Grocery Day, though I prefer to do my shopping on this day because there are shops and stores in the city that are only open during the week.  Some, I like to go to for practical reasons.  If only because I can find better deals for certain necessities there than I could if I’d done my shopping the previous day.  There are also shops that I just like to visit, even if I don’t plan on buying anything from them, that are only open Monday through Saturday.  Since I don’t make it into the city any other day but Sunday and Monday, that means I can only get to those particular places on Monday.  It’s a thing.

Tuesday is like the normal person’s Monday for my husband and I in that, it is the day we go back to work for the week.  I can’t say that it gives me “A case of the Mondays” though.  I really enjoy what I do.  Tuesdays tend to be a little slow, I suppose, which makes for a quiet day, but it lends to opportunities for stretching my creative muscles.  Also, if there’s something at the end of the week that’s big that I’m aware of like a holiday or Prom, I use Tuesday to psych myself up for it.

Wednesday is the awkward day for me, if only when I’m trying to spell the darned thing!  I know people call it hump day, I am not really one of them though.  It’s also a day that my children get out of school early, and though we love seeing them earlier than usual, I find it difficult to remember that I do indeed have to leave to get them earlier.  Far too many days I’ve forgotten, and the kids have either called to get me to get them, or have walked to the house.  I especially feel bad about the latter when it’s winter since we live in a northern state, so winters are not particularly nice all the time.  Also, I tend to have at least one of my children’s friends over on this day, and that eventually means their mother, and coincidentally one of my closest female friends comes to collect them at night and I get a chance to catch up with her on what’s going on in each other’s lives.

Thursday.  Of the days, this one is the most “bleh” of all of them.  I don’t necessarily have any particular events that happen on this day, nor is it particularly busy at work.  It’s just there.  On weeks that have a busy holiday for the Greenhouse, I do tend to do a good amount of prep work on this day.  I don’t really do any corsages or bouts on this day, unless someone is picking something up the next day, but flower arrangements do get done in advance on this day to help free me up on V-day and M-day for the inevitable last minute shopper that needs their arrangement ASAP.

Friday can be busy, especially if there’s Prom the next day.  It also means, my children can stay up if they like.  There is usually a request for going to a friend’s house to hang out or stay the night, or vise-versa.  It doesn’t quite feel like the weekend yet for me since I will still have to get up in the morning and go to work still, but it’s a nice time for me to relax with the children and maybe even stay up watching something with them.  They also get to see their father after he gets off work on this day.  Usually they only get to talk to him on the phone as he gets off work since he leaves his place of employment at the same time that I’m putting them to bed.

Saturday, I consider my weekend, even though I still work.  Again, I don’t dislike what I do, so I can’t really say that going to it is a hardship, but I do sometimes wish I could have more days where I could wake up more organically than to the beeping of my alarm clock.  This is a quiet day most of the time, except for the aforementioned holiday days, then it turns into one of my most busy days.  I do usually get to come home to my children and my husband on this day, which I enjoy.  This is the last day of my week, technically, but I don’t feel like it is.

All the days of the week are just a part of an endless-seeming loop.  They are all connected to each other and not a one is a beginning, nor an end.  Even though these days generally fall on this particular pattern for me, it doesn’t necessarily mean they are static in this.  My routine and my feelings for each day changes like the weather changes.  This, this last paragraph is how I truly feel about the days of the week.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

