Once More With Feeling Writing Prompts: Day 4

So, I finished that last prompt almost by the seat of my pants.  For some that read it, it probably posted after midnight.  Seeing as how it was only eleven for me though, I still technically got it finished on it’s scheduled day! Yay!  Well now, this is my attempt at getting these things out in a more timely fashion.  As far as going’s on in my life, well I realized the ring does help me, though I at least need one other sense in constant activity, usually sound, in order to be more productive with my writing.  I realized yesterday when I was writing that I was dragging a bit before I put on my new Inspirering.  Even then, I felt a little off-balance without my favorite Pandora station playing.

Theory confirmed, I enjoy music and having a weird little ring on my index finger of my left hand.  I’m sure that has some sort of psychic significance, that finger does, I’m just not going to go into it just now.  Right now, I have a writing prompt to do or I’ll not let myself get that silly nail-art stuff!  Today’s writing prompt can be found on this list of writing prompts or even more conveniently here: Choose an object that you can see well; something in the room, on your desk, or outside. Describe it to the reader as if they had never seen such a thing. 

Let’s get started, shall we?

It is a block of plastic made up of several smaller blocks of plastic.  It has six sides, and each side has it’s own color.  However, rows of the smaller blocks can be turned up, down, or to either side in such a way that can make each side have several blocks of different colors.  They are also connected to each other, so you can’t take them out of the cube and place them in another spot.  It’s dimensions are three cubes, by three cubes, by three cubes.  This means that each side has nine squares of color.  It originally had stickers on it for each side’s color, but they got peeled off at some point and placed in such a way that no side could be made a single solid color again.

To fix this, I took six bottles of polish and used them to color the sides again.  The original colors were red, blue, white, yellow, green and black.  Now there’s a opalescent white side, a glittery red side, a black side with silver holographic glitter, a pink holographic glitter side, a shimmery sapphire blue side, and a gold glittery side.  The cubes have been manipulated though so that the center of the blue is actually pink and glittery, the center of the gold is opalescent white, the center of the red is glittery gold, the center of the pink is black with holographic glitter, the center of the white is glittery red, and the center of the black is shimmery blue.

Similar cubes are usually used as a type of puzzle.  People find it fun to mix up the cube’s sides in such a way that all the colors are mixed, then manipulate the sides in such a way so that each side is once again a single color.  For some, this can take hours, days, sometimes even weeks, if they can complete it at all.  For others though, completing the puzzle can take a minute or two.  For me personally, I’ve never been able to complete a cube puzzle before in my life.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

