Once More With Feeling Writing Prompts: Day 5

I just realized that though I wrote this one by hand, I never actually got it onto wordpress.  Well here I go, posting it quick to keep myself from defaulting on my own word.  Once more with feeling prompts day five is: Begin with “Today I will…” and write for ten minutes.

Today I will work hard to not only get my blog writing done, but I will start to organize my different stories.  I really want to get one finished and out there, even if it’ is just in e-book form.  I know I have 1NS finished, but not all in one place.  I just have to locate where all my handwritten pieces of it are.

Sometimes I think I should limit myself to short stories or at least shorter stories.  It’s hard though.  A “short” story for me could take some time.  It’s time that I actually have something to show for myself though.  I still love writing, so why haven’t I gotten published yet?  There’s nothing and no one standing in my way except myself and my own self-doubt.

I was looking through my small filing drawer next to my computer and rediscovered a story I hadn’t yet committed a name to.  But it’s good.  I don’t know.  It’s easy for the person that created a piece to say they like it, but for me it actually isn’t.  I’m my own worst critic sometimes (read mention of self-doubt from earlier)  I can honestly say that I was really enjoying this one though!  It’s about a woman in her twenties who likes to role-play on the weekends with friends.  A new guy is introduced to the group and she finds out they have a little history.  Suddenly she starts to find her resolve to keep  from dating in the group is weakening.  Add to that, her ex-boyfriend seems to be interested in picking up where they left off, and you have a recipe for some gamer angst.

Today I’m going to get those pieces for that story together and I’m going to work hard on it right after I get 1NS together…yep! I’m gonna do it!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

