Once More With Feeling Writing Prompts: Day 6

I’ll start this post by wishing my older sister a happy birthday.  We may not talk, but she’s still my sister.  Funny how one decides to not talk to me, and the other comes back into my life.  Also, interestingly enough, today’s prompt is more of a thoughtful post as well, and will be more journal like. Instead of dwelling on the bullheadedness of the people I’m related to, I’m going to focus on today’s prompt which asks the question: Who do you want to be when you are 40? (Or 50 or 60, etc. if you are already 40)

Well, here’s the thing.  I want to be well on my way to being comfortable.  I want to have security by the time I’m 40.  And no, I’m not 40  yet! *Point’s finger at Lisa’s Ex-husband* I don’t care where I am, as long as I’m with my family and have good friends to talk to.

 

I want to have something published, even if it’s not well known, or well received, though please God let it be readable!  I’d like to still be able to be a nail tech as well.  I love it and I love getting to know my clients.  Do I want to still arrange flowers?  No, not really.  I wouldn’t mind having a small flower garden  maybe even just some hydrangea bushes for me to pick from when I have a desire for fresh cuts, but flower arranging is starting to loose it’s luster a bit.  This year will be the first that my husband and I have taken the time to fully enjoy our anniversary because it inevitably falls close to or on Prom night.  Also, doing nails and flower arranging can sometimes conflict with each other.

By the time I’m fourty, my older son will be twenty, and likely moved out.  His brother will either be in high school or almost in and I don’t know how I’m going to feel about that.  When I realize I’m hitting middle aged, and my baby is far from a baby anymore, I can imagine that’s going to be a bit of a blow.  I want to make sure that when I get to that point, I can look back and say my time wasn’t entirely wasted.  I hope that’s the case, anyway.

Here’s to hoping!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

