Once More With Feeling Writing Prompts: Day 9

I’ve got to keep on top of these posts better! Too many have gotten close to midnight for me *cough* and I want to really treat myself to something special when I finish this.  More importantly though, I want to keep myself in the habit of writing every day.  I want to keep my mental muscles flexing so that the chance of getting stuck for long periods of time becomes smaller.

For anyone just coming to this blog.  I am taking my prompts from a list I made from previous prompt lists and from around the net.  You can find it here if you want to try them out yourself.  I would challenge you to try doing one a day for a month straight.  Let me tell you, it’s a challenge for someone who hasn’t made it a habit yet.

Today’s prompt is Write as if you are observing a celebration involving an original female character of your making.  So, we’re back to writing scenes.  I have a good one in mind, so I’ll just get right to it!  Let’s get started, shall we?

The lights had been turned off.  All the party goers were hidden among the furniture waiting.  Not a single one of them could control an excited giggle or a quick breath.  A couple shifted around the curtains or the plastic table cloth, the sound of which was so loud to me I could swear the guest of honor could hear from outside his front door.  Still, there didn’t seem to be a hesitation in the sound of his keys being taken out and used to unlock his front door.  Everyone allowed him to come in; the plan being that we wouldn’t jump out till he turned on his light.

I wasn’t quite as invested in the surprise as the rest, since I didn’t know the guy they were throwing the party for.  I was here with a coworker who had invited me to join her in the hopes of broadening my horizons.  I’d just broken up with a long time boyfriend who had turned out to be the most manipulative individual I’d ever known a person to be.  It had gotten to the point that he’d gotten me almost completely isolated.  He’d alienated me from all my friends, and was working hard at keeping me from talking to my family.  What broke the camel’s back was I found a series of instant messages between him and an “ex-girlfriend” that involved nude pictures being exchanged among other things.  I made sure to screen capture them and send them to my own account as proof against him deleting them and trying to make it seem like I was going crazy.

Emily was the closest I had to a friend, since there was no way he could keep me from even the brief socialization we had at work.  She noticed instantly when I came into work the next day that something wasn’t right.  I was barely hanging onto my composure as it was, so all it took was one inquiring word from her and I was a slobbering mess in the ladies bathroom.  After getting me calmed down, cleaned up and back into some semblance of sane, we worked towards getting to the end of the workday.  Thank God it was Friday.  Instead of letting me go home to face the inevitable confrontation I’d have with the soon to be ex, she brilliantly suggested she come with me to get what clothes and possessions I could that night and stay with her till I could find a more suitable place.  The next day, she told me that she’d been invited to a surprise party for a good friend of hers that she was taking me to whether I wanted to or not.  It was all with the best of intentions, so I didn’t resist.  So, now I was crouched in a back corner, waiting for a guy to enter his house and hoping to keep the reality of my recent break-up wouldn’t prevent me from enjoying the night.

There was a moment where the world went white with the flicking of the light switch.  I got up with the rest of them, but my “Surprise” was a little more subdued as my vision cleared.  A group of party goers had already swarmed their friend.  He laughed and thanked each and every one for the well-wishes.  The cadence of his voice sounded like a mix of the sweet trebble of Marco Hietala from the band Nightwish and the rich bass of Johnny Cash.  Something in it made caused me to pause.  I couldn’t put my finger on it, but the sound of his laughter triggered something in my memory, something that caused my heart to both speed up and plummet at the same time.  The desire to introduce myself to him warred with my desire to hide on the back porch or something.  Coward that I am, I was about to take a step in the direction I believed I needed to go when Emily extracted herself from the group to grab me by the wrist.

“This is the lady I was telling you about, Nathan!” She said excitedly, “I managed to convince her come out of social hibernation.”

I tried not to cringe a little at that.  She really did mean well, and it wasn’t like I was known for going out with my coworkers for a quick drink to unwind.  Still, as I was coming face to face with a guy I suspected Emily had had hopes of hooking me up with, it was a little embarrassing to know I was known as that woman.  I looked up into amused golden brown eyes, my nose being level with his chin.  His skin was the color of creamed coffee, and his hair a mix of dark, medium and light brown.  It was cut in the generic style that framed the shape of his skull, but wasn’t so short that you could see his scalp.  His jaw was square, cheekbones high and prominent in a slender face.  When he grinned at me, with his two rows of straight white teeth in a Steven Tyler-sized mouth, it was like coming home.

All the wind left me as recognition flashed in my mind.  My eyes felt as if they were going to pop out of my skull, and my heart was in agreement.  I practically jumped into his arms, half laughing at myself for the odd turn of events that led me to this.  Nathan, or Nate as I’d always called him, was my first serious boyfriend in high school.  We had dated for two years before my father moved our family away and Nate and I decided we needed to let each other go.  In my heart, I never really did though.  Now here he was in front of me again, ten years later.

“Steph?” he breathed into my hair as his arms squeezed me as tight as I was squeezing him.  I didn’t want to let go either, but I knew it would get awkward if I didn’t eventually.

“Nate, is it really you?” I squeaked.  He laughed again and made an affirmative noise in his chest that I felt vibrate in mine.  It felt almost too good.

We did separate after another minute of holding each other.  He was still grinning, and much to my mortification I could feel the corners of my eyes tingling with moisture.  It was just too much for my emotional state after everything else that had happened in the last few days, only to come face to face with someone I’d lamented ever loosing contact with.  I looked away, so I could blink the tears back, and instead saw Emily next to us, looking entirely too pleased with herself.

Had she known?

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

