Once More With Feeling Writing Prompts: Day 10

So, how bout that major sports team? Heard they’re not doing so major this year.

Seriously though, sometimes I don’t even know how to take my own writing.  1NS is like a fevered dream.  Quick and dangerously hot, but now that I’m nearly done with it I’m feeling a little disappointed.  It’s just so short, and I want there to be more of it!  I did finish writing up what I had on paper and transferring it onto the computer last night, so I’m one more step towards that final goal.  There’s one part in it that needs a little more writing to connect the pieces together, and then I just need to finish out the ending.  Page count on my Open Office program as it stands has it at thirteen pages with size twelve Times New Roman font.  So, maybe I’ll end up with twenty to twenty-tree pages?  Since I’m going to try to market it, I might not post the ending here.  I’m still debating on that.  I mean on one hand I’m not sure if I’d have enough pages to market it at all, and in that case I’ll have to bust my hump to finish off Vertigo since it’s the next closest to completion and then maybe another short story that I’ll write and try to sell them all together as a small short story collection?  I guess we’ll see.  If I do have enough content to put 1NS out there alone, then I won’t have to worry about all that.  Besides, I’ll want to let it sit a little, then go back at it with my Little Editor Beth who I kept back with a choke-collar to keep her from stopping my forward momentum.

Well, now that I’ve got that out of my system lets get on to a writing prompt, shall we?  So, what do we have for us today? Day 10 is: What was your favorite childhood toy? *blinks* nope! that’s not awkward at all!  Ah well! Let’s get started, shall we?

So, my favorite childhood toy was, hands down a little chocolate lab pound puppy stuffed animal I named Brownie. You can actually see a picture of me holding her in my kindergarten picture.  I would pierce her ears with earrings, take her practically everywhere (even school apparently) I would sleep with her, she was and will always be my most loved toy.

Now, the story of how I got her is still a little fuzzy to me.  I seem to remember all of the family members getting a pound puppy.  My little sister got a grey bulldog she called Bruno (Brownie’s boyfriend btw) but I don’t remember what my older sister got, nor what my brothers may have got.  In all honesty, I remember my mother actually getting Brownie, and I liked her so much, that my mother gave her to me.  I could be wrong, but it was because I believed my mother gave her to me that I loved her so much in the first place.

Sadly I would loose my own head if it weren’t attached to my neck.  One day, I took Brownie to a Quick Trip, set her down, and she was never seen from again.  Couldn’t tell you how old I was when that happened.  I was still young though.  As I got older, if I came across a Pound Puppy, I’d look to see if there were any little brown ones, and then check to see if they had the same look as my Brownie.

After I had my son Brandon, my mother found an old clock that had one sewn onto the top.  She took it off and sewed it up so that I would have a Brownie again.  I would let my baby play with it a little, but he never quite loved it as much as I did.  Currently it sits in my bedroom by our television.  No, I don’t sleep with it.  I do cuddle it from time to time.

I would like to tell you that I still feel a bit of a childlike comfort when I hold it, but I don’t.  It isn’t the same Brownie, and I’m not the same Cecilia that snuggled it as a little girl.  The things I would seek comfort for can’t be soothed by a tiny stuffed animal anymore, as much as I wish they could.

Still, it’s nice to look back at this picture, or even at the small representation of the stuffed animal and smile at the pleasant memories.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

