Once More With Feeling Writing Prompts: Day 12

My husband and I left for our postponed (by 11 years) honeymoon when I posted my last writing prompt.  I had intended on posting them with my phone while I was out of state, but it just didn’t end up happening that way.  Then this last week was spent getting my husband and oldest son ready for a trip to D.C. So I ended up not getting any of it done and only just barely got a post out on WMHB.  That said, this prompt is quite late, and I failed to do a prompt a day like I kept telling myself I was going to.  No chrome pigment powders for me!  That said, I’m penalizing myself.  After I finish all 30 prompts, I’m doing 11 extra so that I will have an unbroken 30 days of writing.  I’m doing this for me and not for sparkly glitters.

Just as a side note before I write on this prompt, I broke down and bought an adult coloring book.  I was at Target with my husband and two kinds, and the check-out register had coupons for Papermate products that featured two colorable sides.  Next day, I went to Dollar Tree and found two small adult coloring books that caught my eye, so I’m going to use it for therapy because I think I’ve been letting things get me too wound up and I do find coloring to be calming.  I was about to buy some coloring pencils for them as well when I remembered the art kit someone bought me one Christmas that I still have.  The only downside to them is that I’m still finding is that the sticks of color are easily broken when I sharpen the pencils, so I end up with a lot of wasted pencil.  Oh well, better than never using them at all right?  That would be a lot of wasted pencil!

Enough about my coloring escapades! You want writing and if I go to Facebook one more time, I’ll never get this post done!

Our writing prompt for today could be somewhat of a lengthy one, but I’ll try not to drag it out too long. As always feel free to follow along.  The writing prompt is: Who have you forgotten about until right now? Think hard and list five people from your past that you really should have written something about by now but haven’t. Circle the name of the person who stands out the strongest. Write a description or brief memoir of that person. 

I’m not entirely sure how I’m going to start this, but I’ll give it my absolute best. Also the person I’m going to write about will be highlighted in red.  Let’s get started shall we?

I would like to preface this by saying that after all the years of having this blog I do not know who I have and have not written about yet. Honestly I’d say that I have only briefly mentioned a few people but not necessarily talked about anyone specifically except maybe my little sister Crystal. In that sense I guess I could name off any five people I want to do and it would still be true to the writing prompt.  On the other hand, I’ve mentioned plenty, so would listing them go against the prompt? I don’t know,  I’m going to try to list people I’ve never mentioned, and then write about one of them, but if the people I list end up being one’s I’ve mentioned, I’m sorry.  You’ll just have to forgive me, I found this post a bit awkward.

  1. Stephanie
  2. Odis
  3. Arlene
  4. Elvis
  5. Lisa

Okay, so this first paragraph is going to give honorable mention to the four others on my list.  Stephanie was one of my closest female friends in middle school and the first two years of high school before I moved.  We lost touch after that, but we reconnected a little on Facebook.  It’s not the same, sad to say.  I still stalk her Facebook though, and it’s nice to see her enjoying life.  Odis was common-law married to my Grandmother when I was a little girl.  He died when I was 6 but the thing is that even though I wasn’t related to him by blood, he was the best example I had of a grandfather being that the Grandpa1 sexually abused children, and Grandpa2 I didn’t meet till I was 12 and I couldn’t pick him out of a lineup to save my life.  Hows that for a family dynamic.  Still a little bitter about all that.  Arlene is the grandmother that was married to Odis.  She died two years ago.  Although she was far from perfect, she was still my grandmother, and I love her. Lisa is my current best female friend.  Our children are all friends, and so are we.  Which is nice, because when I needed someone to do tequila shots in honor of my Aunt, she was the one I called.  However, all these are a post for later, like when I’m not doing writing prompts, or maybe they’ll be part of my penalty prompts.  We shall see.

So, that brings me to Elvis.  No, I’m not going to talk about the King of Rock & Roll.  The Elvis I knew was a guy five years older than me.  His mother was a huge Elvis fan, and so, named her first son after him.  Elvis was the middle child of three.  His sister was about seven years I think when I met her, and we were friends.  I used to go over to their house often.  It was in their yard that I found my first four-leaf clovers, and at their neighbor’s house that I learned the basics of belly dance.  Just down the street, I met my first love.  I also learned early that even at thirteen his mother was a staunch “pro-lifer” and yelled at me when I told her I believe every woman should have a choice.  Look, I’m not saying every woman should have an abortion, but there are times when they are necessary, and I believe every woman should have the choice whether or not to have a safe one…but I digress.

Elvis was overweight, but so active!  He loved Power Rangers, Magic the Gathering, and D&D.  My first campaign that lasted more than a night was his.  Couldn’t tell you what my halfling thief’s name was though…I just remember that towards the end of that game (first addition D&D ftw!) we had dragons???? How, I couldn’t tell you!  He also allowed me to make an Aquatic elf character *also rogue class cause F-it I like them!*   D&D and cards weren’t the only things we did though.  We also liked to play dodge-frisbee in the street.  If you can dodge a spinning disc coming at you at light speed you can dodge a ball!

I honestly have no idea what happened to him.  The last I saw of him was twenty years ago.  One of these days I hope to come across his picture on Facebook or something, maybe catch up on old times, find out what games he still plays.  Remember Death from Above Elvis? I still do.  I hope life has been kind to him and his family though.  I know things seemed tough.  I seem to recall no running water in his parents’ home nor any central air conditioning in a house with at least one parent that was a hoarder.  I didn’t go in his house often, but when I did, it was pretty awful.  No judgement here, but it was my first experience with a house that was in that state.  It wasn’t pretty, and it made most interaction happen in their yard.

Anyway, that’s my person, since I’m sure I’ve never even mentioned that I knew a guy named Elvis.  Well now you know!  Next I’ll tell you about when I met Jesus. Hahahaha! No seriously I know a guy!’

See y’all on the flip-side!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

