Once More With Feeling Writing Prompts: Day 13

Well, I procrastinated all day without doing my writing earlier, and here I am with less than thirty minutes on the clock to get it done for the day.  I’m just a special kind of lazy, hu?  This is why I was so insistent on keeping up with them every day even when certain people threatened extreme displeasure at my doing it.  Getting back into the habit after falling off the wagon is damned hard!  All that doesn’t matter though.  What matters is, I need to get this writing prompt out of the way and then I need to go to bed.

Cue montage music! Inspiring on! Writing prompt at the ready! Everyone wanting to follow along can find the list here and for those too lazy to do the math you can just follow this: List 10 words that you like.  Elaborate on why you like them, and maybe even give a definition of them.

Are we all good? Got your writing utensil of choice ready to create? Then, let’s get started, shall we?

First word: Moist! Muahahaha I know I just made a whole army of people cringe!  I love the word even more so that I found a baffling number of people that actually “detest” the word.  Really? You detest moist but have no problem with men described as “an Adonis” and much to my chagrin, you think 50 Shades is good BDSM?  Cake is moist, damp clothing is moist, and my heroines’ can get moist *wink, wink, nudge nudge* amirigh? It means slightly wet, damp, or humid.

Second word: Mastication. I’m starting to remember doing this list, and every time, I have to add this word to it.  Call it the immature young teen in me that recognized it sounded vaguely similar to masturbation and used it to tease those that didn’t know better.  By the way, it means the act of chewing.

Third word: Verisimilitude. This is a term I became familiar with in my college creative writing class.  It was used to lecture the class on making sure your work is at least a little believable.  I understand that when writing something for entertainment purposes, there is going to be some sort of suspension of belief.  However, even in outlandish fantasies, there is still a shred of truth or believability.  That’s basically what verisimilitude means, the appearance of being true or real.  Also, it just rolls right off the tongue!

Fourth word: Polymerization. This is something that’s very important in the nail-tech business.  The polymerization of your artificial nail structure is what lends it both it’s strength and flexibility.  It’s the chemical reaction of the liquid acrylic monomers with the powder polymers.  Structure gel goes through a similar process, but instead of mixing a powder and liquid, you instead cure the gel under a UV light to make the polymerization process occur.  Also the structure is cross-linked and therefore stronger than acrylic.  Also it can’t be soaked off like acrylic for this reason as well. The full definition of polymerization is a process of reacting monomer molecules together in a chemical reaction to form polymer chains or three-dimensional networks. Say that three times fast!

Fifth word: Asphyxiation.  There’s a love-hate relationship I have with this word.  I remember one New Year’s celebration mentioning that I have an “oral asphyxiation” and cringing knowing that in my drunken mind I went from slurring the right word to just saying the absolute worst word instead.  But then I later read it in a book, and think the author incorrectly used the word when she was supposedly sober.  At least I was puking-in-the-kitchen-sink drunk when I misused it!  Anyway, love-hate it, and it means to suffocate or deprive of oxygen to the point of passing out or death.  Usually death.  Also to clarify, I don’t like to choke, but I do like putting things in my mouth.  There, now you have that image in your mind!

Sixth word: Pressure. Why do I love this word so much?  It just seems to take on so many meanings, you know?  Like if you’re going into labor, they tell you at some point you’ll “feel a little pressure” when the baby is about to come.  By pressure, they must mean it feels like your cooch is going to split to the size of Texas.  Then again, a good number of erotic novels describe the build of an orgasm as a “building up of pressure” which, I’d say is pretty accurate.  It does kind of feel like your being filled like a water balloon in a sort of way…now there’s an image!  Mostly though, I love the word because when me and April were learning about massage technique in our Nail Tech class, she would lean into me and say in a very husky, somewhat creepy tone “How’s the pressure?” and it was just so ridiculous I couldn’t’ stop laughing.  Now, every time I ask my clients “How’s the pressure?” I have to refrain from using creepy voice and also laughing like a crazy person.  Yes, I’m crazy, but they don’t need to know that!

Seventh word: Erect. Okay, it’s past my bedtime, and my husband has been away for several days now.  You all expect me to pull fun and interesting words out my rear like some dancing monkey and this is what you get at this point…so much innuendo!  Still, this word doesn’t just mean that kind of erect!  It means to stand rigidly upwards or straight as well as to construct something like a tower, a dirt bike, or a Lego set.

Eighth word: Imagination.  I don’t know of a time where I didn’t have a healthy imagination.  It is really helpful when coming up with story plot and such, but really unhelpful when you can’t stop coming up with the worse-case scenario for any given thing.  I won’t go into details, but my own imagination has kept me awake many nights thinking of bad things either happening when I fall asleep, or making me believe they were happening right under my nose.  Bad imagination, BAD! Actual internet definition (one of them) is the ability of the mind to be creative or resourceful.

Ninth word: Elderberries.  Shout out to all us out there who know what Monty Python is and can at least quote a little of The Holy Grail!  I still haven’t seen all of The Life of Bryan, but I’m no longer convinced that I have to watch it to be able to call myself a true gamer geek…no Ryan, it was not, in fact, a requirement.  Your mother was a hamster, and your father smelt of elderberries! Also, I have never seen, tasted, nor smelled an elderberry.  Is it supposed to be pungent? I don’t know… internet defines them as the bluish-black or red berry of the elder, used especially for making jelly or wine.

Tenth word: Wyrm. Pronounced like worm, it is actually an alternate word for dragon.  Depends on in what setting you are discussing them.  If it’s a D&D setting, the dragon being referred to is probably an ancient one but sometimes I think it also refers the the more serpentine looking dragons as well.  Smack me if I’m wrong.  Still, if you want a more direct definition of the word, internet says that a wyrm is an alternative name for the mythological European dragon, but these are often also referred to as Eastern Dragons or Chinese Dragon. In other instances, Drake is synonymous with wyrm.

Well, there you go folks, ten words.  Do I use them all regularly, probably not, but they’re the words you get tonight since I waited till I was too tired to list my favorite words to use.  I hope it was educational for some of you, entertaining for the rest, or both! For now, I’m out!

I’ll see you all on the flip-side!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

