Once More With Feeling Writing Prompts: Day 14

I’m looking forward to welcoming my teenage son and my husband home from there trip tonight.  I have been equal parts missing them and entertaining a little freedom of sorts.  I still had our youngest with me, but not having to split my focus between three separate individuals has been somewhat relaxing.  Sunday, Lisa and I made charcoal face mask peels and recorded ourselves peeling them off.  It wasn’t necessarily a wild party, but for me it was great fun especially when you add jungle juice made with tequila and any frozen fruit I could find to the mix.

I may or may not elaborate on the face mask night.  For now, I best get down to my writing prompt.  Thinking of making it a Wednesday post after the initial 30 is finished.  I’d ask what you all think, but the interaction on the blog just doesn’t seem to happen.  Chime in with your opinion if you’d like.  I’m leaning towards starting a “Writing Prompt Wednesday” as well as a “Throw it in the Lake Thursday Book Review”.    I still have some time before I’ll be freed up enough to make that decision, since these writing prompts are taking up most of my posting time.

But enough about my life and such, how bout that writing prompt.  Today, we have a deceptively simple one.  Feel free to follow along.  The list can be found here but the day’s prompt is this: Write about a keepsake.

Do you have a keepsake in mind? I do.  Let’s get started, shall we?

My personal keepsake is a necklace my Aunt gave to me a little over a year ago.  It is a golden colored gemstone about as large as a small chicken egg in length, surrounded by an antique gold setting made to look like a dragon/griffon.  She said she bought it in an antique store, but never wore it enough to want to keep it.  I have been wearing it off and on since she gave it to me.  I also have been on the hunt for the perfect pair of earrings to match it somewhat.

It’s very dear to me since the woman who gave it to me was someone I was extremely close to growing up.  She was like a mother to me at times.  One of the things I’ll remember most about her was her willingness to help her family members out when they were in need.  When I was an adult, but still didn’t have my license, she took time out of her lunch hour to come and teach me so that I could be more independent.  She helped my brother go to college and get his degree in aeronautics, she was even willing to help my little sister pursue her dreams.  Family was very important to her, and one of the last times I’d see her before she passed, she had chartered a party bus to take our family around to see Christmas lights.

The necklace she gave me couldn’t be more priceless to me if it were a yellow diamond set in 24k gold and a thousand years old!  It’s my intention to give it to either one of my children’s daughter’s or pass it on to one of my nieces when my time comes.  I hope that time doesn’t come very soon, however.  For now I wear it whenever I’m missing my aunt, or when I’m wearing a particularly cute outfit that it would go with nicely.

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

