Loosing My Momentum

Okay, so I’m sure it’s obvious that I didn’t do any writing prompts the last couple of days.  Honestly, I was starting to loose my momentum before my trip to Colorado with my husband, and it’s not even the fault of not having access to my computer that did it.  It really just boils down to too many times I found myself wanting to do anything but a writing prompt, but feeling forced to do one anyway, then whatever I wanted to write just kind of got forgotten or put onto a shelf where I may or may not pick it back up.  I did try to incorporate a little bit of blogging at the beginning of each prompt, but honestly I felt if I devoted too much to the beginning I’d never get the prompt done, and I just really wanted to get them out of the way.  Also, I wanted to avoid posting more than once per day, as I’ve always gotten the impression that multiple postings in a single day seemed a little too obsessive, when with some you could have combined the posts into one nice sized post.  Either that or I felt that I could leave the impression of just seeking out attention.

So, yeah, not that it doesn’t feel like I’m already doing that anyway putting what amounts to a journal entry onto the net so that everyone and sundry can read it.  No, I’m not seeking attention at all!

I guess this is just my attempt to get my writing momentum back without feeling forced to write a prompt every fricken’ day.  Promise, for all of you that really liked them, I will continue doing the writing prompts on Wednesdays, even after the “30 days” are done.  I just have to focus on other things, like actual productive writing.

That said, I’m going to make this a brainstorm of how I’m going to structure my week.  If that at all interests you, by all means, read on!  Otherwise, feel free to check out some of my other work.  Though , the password protected work is still going to be protected until i figure out whether they should be made public or not.  Even so, I may just change the password to something like “iam18orolder” you know, cause of sexy stuff…

Okay, so I need to set myself up with a working schedule for the week as far as my writing is concerned and as far as what I’m posting in the blog, etc.  So, for start, I’m posting a writing prompt on Wednesday, and possibly reviewing a certain book on Thursdays, though I will move on to some other work after I finish with the current one.  I’m not sure what though.  I really should devote all the other days to productive story writing and editing.  Only problem is, I want to continue blog writing and I can’t post every bit of story on my blog if I intend on publishing.  Maybe I’ll have a teaser Tuesday where I’ll write a scene or so from a story I’m working on, or even just do something that gives background or insight into a character.  Sundays I could make into a brainstorming day where I can work though a particularly difficult block, or get ideas worked through and give myself more ideas for an upcoming project.  Fridays can be Free-Form Fridays where I can do whatever I feel like, as far as my writing goes.  I can do book reviews, brainstorms, teasers, blog posts, etc.  The only thing I won’t allow myself to do is slack off and not do anything.  This just leaves me with Mondays and Saturdays.  Perhaps I won’t require any type of blog update on these days, though I like my idea of a Manic Monday.  I just don’t know what I’d do that would make it Manic.  Rant?  Saturdays…Silly Saturdays?  How is this different from the afore mentioned Manic Mondays?  I can’t force myself to be comical.  Any time I try to be funny, I fail, puns or otherwise.  I’m sure I’ve amused a couple of you with my writing, but it’s hard to explain that if I plan it, or try to, it never turns out as well as if I organically come across it.

In the end, does it even matter what I label the different days of the week? Will I even be able to stick to it?  What if I fall of the wagon again and you all don’t hear from me for most of the year?  Seriously, it could and has happened!  One bad series of events and I’ll go crawling back into my shell, mark my words!

Ah well, I seem to have a decent idea going here.  It’s about as good as I’ll ever manage, and will be subject to change at a whim.  Heck Silly Saturdays could turn into Serene Saturdays where I allow myself to just relax, but I can post something uplifting or inspiring along with some calming music, or Sundays could be Serene and Saturdays can become brainStormy…

Stormy Saturdays…

Wait, aren’t I brainstorming right now…on a Saturday?  Also, I just had an idea about Friday and Monday.  Friday is going to be devoted to working on Fan-Fiction, cause I like me some good fan fiction and I have some laying around that would help to keep me in a writing mood but give me a way to escape working for a bit.  Manic Mondays isn’t about ranting, it’s going to be more like what Fridays was going to be, where as you’ll never know what I’m going to post on a Manic Monday, cause it’s manic! *wink*

Okay, so my schedule as it stands will go as follows: Serene Sundays, Manic Mondays, Teaser Tuesdays, Writing Prompt Wednesdays, Throw-it-in-a-Lake Thursdays, Fan Fiction Fridays, and Stormy Saturdays! *big breath* Yeah! I think I’ll run with this for a bit and see where it gets me!

Have a good one everyone, and I’ll see you on the flip-side!

About Cici Brown
I'm a happily married mother of two and a half. I'm usually pretty bubbly and in some cases, according to my husband, too open about everything. I am and always will be a gamer geek, though I haven't table-top roleplayed for many years. I still manage to hit an MMO or two. My interests include most things geek and Vampire fiction, though not the sparkly kind, that's not vampire fiction. I have goals towards publishing that have yet to be fulfilled but one day...

Leave a Reply

